Australia opt to bat in third T20I; one change each in both teams

Australia won the toss for the third time in the series, but have chosen to bat first on this occasion. Perhaps because the surface at Pallekele could be better for the spinners in the second innings. Or maybe because they want to challenge themselves in a different direction (they had won both the matches in Colombo batting first).

Both teams made one change to their XIs. Australia have brought in Josh Inglis in place of Mitchell Marsh at No. 3. Marsh misses out on account of a calf strain during Australia’s three-wicket win in Colombo on Wednesday, and is unlikely for the ODI series too.
Sri Lanka, meanwhile, have left out round-arm seam bowler Nuwan Thushara in favour of left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama, which means they have three frontline spinners to pick from in their playing XI. Chamika Karunaratne – the fast bowling allrounder retains his place. This means Sri Lanka will once again likely have Wanindu Hasaranga and Karunaratne at No. 6 and 7 respectively.

Sri Lanka: 1 Pathum Nissanka, 2 Danushka Gunathilaka, 3 Charith Asalanka, 4 Kusal Mendis (wk), 5 Bhanuka Rajapaksa, 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt), 7 Wanindu Hasaranga, 8 Chamika Karunaratne, 9 Dushmantha Chameera, 10 Maheesh Theekshana, 11 Praveen Jayawickrama

Australia:1 Aaron Finch (capt), 2 David Warner, 3 Josh Inglis, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Steven Smith, 6 Marcus Stoinis, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Jhye Richardson, 10 Kane Richardson, 11 Josh Hazlewood

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker